concerning the implementation of this Treaty", and empowers the Council to set up such subsidiary bodies, including a defence committee, as may be necessary to achieve the purposes of the Treaty. This very general provision left the Council free to adapt the organization to meet the needs as they arise.

The Council is the supreme governing body of NATO. The chairmanship rotates annually in alphabetical order of member countries. At the seventh meeting of the Council at Ottawa in September 1951, the Hon. L. B. Pearson, Canadian Secretary of State for External Affairs, became Chairman for the following year.

At an early stage, the Council, which consisted of all the Foreign Ministers of the Parties to the Treaty, established a committee of Defence Ministers, a committee of Finance Ministers, a Military Production Board of high officials representing each government, as well as other subordinate civil bodies and an elaborate structure of military bodies. The Council met as occasion required in various national capitals. These arrangements were found to be rather unwieldy and, at the Lisbon meeting of the Council in February 1952, it was agreed that the civil organization be located permanently at Paris, that the Council operate as a permanent body, and that the members be represented at the seat of the Council by a permanent delegation. It was further agreed that all NATO activities be brought under the control of the Council, and that a strong secretariat be established under a Secretary General who would be Vice-Chairman of the Council and could serve in the absence of the Chairman. These measures were implemented shortly thereafter.

Military Organization.—The Military Committee, on which each member country is represented by one of its Chiefs of Staff, is the senior military organ of the Alliance and comes directly under the Council. It is responsible for providing that body with military advice and receives from it political guidance which is passed on to Supreme Commanders by the Standing Group. As in the case of the Council, the chairmanship of the Military Committee rotates annually in the alphabetical order of NATO countries.

The Standing Group, as its name implies, is a permanent body. It is composed of the Chiefs of Staff of the three major contributors to NATO—the United States, United Kingdom and France—and is responsible for the continuing work in the military sphere. It is located at Washington and gives strategic and political guidance to the Supreme Commanders who come under its orders. The eleven other members of NATO are associated with Standing Group work through a Committee of Military Representatives at Washington consisting of representatives of the Chiefs of Staff of the other member countries. This makes it possible for all to be kept in constant touch with developments.

Direct military command in NATO is exercised by Supreme Commanders. In 1950, General Dwight D. Eisenhower was appointed the first Supreme Allied Commander, Europe, responsible for the defence of Western Europe. He remained in office a little over a year when he resigned and was succeeded by General Matthew Ridgway. Early in 1952 Admiral L. D. McCormick, USN, was appointed Supreme Commander, Atlantic, responsible for the defence of the lines of communication across the Atlantic Ocean. His headquarters are at Norfolk, Va.